Artist ProfileNews

Burna Boy, Wizkid win Big At MOBO Awards 2020 (Winners List)

Full Winners MOBO Awards 2020 – The Mobo awards reported that in 2018 it will go on hiatus for a year, but its return was subsequently postponed until 2020. Founder Kanya King, who set up the awards in 1996, told the Guardian last week regarding the time off: “We were asking ourselves: is Mobo still needed?” The ceremony marked its fallow years with a one-off award for the best album released in the period, given to R&B singer Ella Mai for her self-titled debut that became a huge US hit in 2018.

Steve McQueen, the director and visual artist whose BBC TV series Small Axe documents Black British life, was given the inspiration award. “This is an extraordinary prize,” he said. “Thank you so much. The Mobo awards for me is part of the idea of Small Axe. When people didn’t want to recognise us, we recognised ourselves and that’s given me the inspiration to go forward.”

King hailed the awards as “an empowering show with a purpose that represents opportunity over inequality, that represents pride for an audience that often feels marginalised, that represents achievement against all odds,” alluding to the racial inequality she castigated in an open letter to the UK music industry in June.

Hosted by Maya Jama and Chunkz (the comedian-musician who was also voted best media personality by the public), the livestreamed ceremony featured performances by Headie One (featuring M Huncho) and Young T & Bugsey, plus stars that traversed styles across the Black diaspora: rappers Ms Banks, Kojey Radical and Shaybo, dancehall vocalist Stylo G and soul singer Tiana Major9. From outside the UK, R&B singer HER, nominated for three Grammys including song of the year, performed her song Damage, while two of Nigeria’s biggest pop stars also appeared: Tiwa Savage and Davido.

Check Out 2020 Mobo award winners below.

Album of the year: Nines – Crabs in a Bucket
Best male act: Headie One
Best female act: Mahalia
Song of the year (public vote): Young T & Bugsey – Don’t Rush (feat Headie One)
Best newcomer (public vote): Aitch
Video of the year: NSG – Lupita
Best R&B/soul act: Mahalia
Best hip-hop act: Nines
Best grime act (public vote): JME
Best international act (public vote): Burna Boy
Best performance in a TV show/film: Michael Ward as Marco, Blue Story
Best media personality: Chunkz
Best album 2017-2019: Ella Mai – Ella Mai
Best African act: Wizkid
Best reggae act: Buju Banton
Best gospel act: CalledOut Music
Best jazz act: Ego Ella May
Best producer: Jae5
Inspiration award: Steve McQueen


I’m proud of you and I will always stand behind all my brothers – Floyd Mayweather to Nate Robinson

Nate Robinson breaks silence after Jake Paul boxing loss

Diego Maradona laid to rest in Private Ceremony in Buenos Aires – Video

Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi among 11 nominees for Men’s Player Award – Best FIFA Football Awards 2020

Somebody is making Profit on my name” – Zlatan Ibrahimovic takes aim at FIFA in furious Twitter rant

Rapper Lil Yase shot and killed at age 25

Justin Bieber Calls Out Grammys for Excluding Him from R&B Categories

Grammy Nominations 2021: See the full List

Church patriarch dies from Covid-19 after leading Open-casket funeral of Bishop killed by the virus

Missy Elliott helps struggling Bride Pay for Dream Wedding Dress

US is BROKE – it’s a huge bubble economy completely supported by debt – Peter Schiff

Super Mario Bros 3 becomes most expensive game of all time

Study suggests video games can help mental health – University of Oxford study

PayPal now lets all US users buy, sell and hold cryptocurrency

How to Get to the First Page of Google

YouTube won’t release a Rewind video for the first time since 2010


Web Designer | YouTuber | Music Promoter | Blogger Advert or Promote with us by calling +233242076578
Back to top button
Click to Chat!
Agent (Online)

We are here to help. Chat with us on WhatsApp for any queries.

%d bloggers like this: