SportsArtist Profile

UCL: Check The Teams That Have Won UEFA Champion League Before

UEFA Champion League Winners Table – The UEFA Champions League, which began in 1955, is a seasonal football competition. The European Cup was the name of the event prior to the 1992–93 season. The UEFA Champions League is open to the league champions of all UEFA (Union of European Football Associations) member associations (except Liechtenstein, which has no league competition), as well as to the clubs finishing from second to fourth position in the strongest leagues. Originally, only the champions of their respective national league and the defending champions of the competition were allowed to participate.

However, this was changed in 1997 to allow the runners-up of the stronger leagues to compete as well, and again in 1999 when third and fourth placed teams of the said leagues also became eligible.[3] In the Champions League era, the defending champions of the competition did not automatically qualify until the rules were changed in 2005 to allow title holders Liverpool to enter the competition.

Teams that have won the UEFA Champions League three consecutive times, or five times overall, receive a multiple-winner badge.[5] Six teams have earned this privilege: Real Madrid, Ajax, Bayern Munich, AC Milan, Liverpool, and Barcelona. Until 2009, clubs that had earned that badge were allowed to keep the European Champion Clubs’ Cup and a new one was commissioned; since 2009, the winning team each year has received a full-size replica of the trophy, while the original is retained by UEFA.

A total of 22 clubs have won the Champions League/European Cup. Real Madrid hold the record for the most victories, having won the competition thirteen times, including the inaugural edition. They have also won the competition the most consecutive times, with five straight titles from 1956 to 1960. Juventus have been runners-up the most times, losing seven finals. Atlético Madrid is the only team to reach three finals without having won the trophy while Reims and Valencia have finished as runners-up twice without winning. Spain has provided the most champions, with eighteen wins from two clubs. England have produced fourteen winners from five clubs and Italy have produced twelve winners from three clubs. English teams were banned from the competition for five years following the Heysel disaster in 1985.[10] The current champions are Chelsea, who beat Manchester City 1–0 in the 2021 final.

Check out the full list, how many titles each side has and who they beat in the final(s).

Real Madrid13
AC Milan 7
Bayern Munich6
Liverpool FC6
FC Barcelona 5
Ajax Amsterdam 4
FC Internazionale3
Manchester United3
Chelsea FC2
FC Porto2
Juventus FC2
Nottingham Forest2
SL Benfica2
Borussia Dortmund1
Olympique Marseille1
Red Star Belgrade1
PSV Eindhoven1
Steaua Bukarest1
Hamburger SV1
Aston Villa1
RV & AV Feijenoord1
Celtic FC1


Web Designer, Blogger | YouTuber | Music Promoter | Streamer | Digital Marketer | Social Media Manger & Publicist Connect with Me Via email:
Back to top button
Click to Chat!
Agent (Online)

We are here to help. Chat with us on WhatsApp for any queries.